The ANCDS 2013 Business Meeting was held at the Palmer Hotel in Chicago, IL on Wednesday, November 13th, 2014 immediately preceding the ANCDS Scientific and Educational Meeting.

ANCDS President Nina Simmons-Mackie called the business meeting to order. The 2012 General Business Meeting minutes were unanimously approved. President Nina Simmons-Mackie presented committee report summaries.

<u>Treasurer's Report:</u> Maria Munoz (chair). Total income from 11/1/12 to 10/31/13 was \$25, 271, expense were \$43,647, net assets were \$68,072. Recently, the association has taken a loss on the annual scientific meeting. These losses are, in part, due to variable venue costs and stable conference registration fees. There will be a dues increase in 2014 that might partially offset the negative income and the Executive Board (EB) is exploring ways to generate new revenue.

<u>Nominations Committee</u>: Michael Kimbarow (chair). The results of the 2013 election included: Stacie Raymer as President Elect; Melissa Duff as Secretary; and Sarah Wallace and Deanna Britton as Members at Large.

<u>Meeting Committee and Local Arrangements</u>: Leora Cherney (chair). The 2013 Scientific Meeting has the highest registration in the meeting's history.

<u>Certification Board:</u> Kathleen Youse (chair). Currently, 9 ANCDS members are seeking board certification. The certification committee has revised the procedures to include two case studies. The previous process included an exam and one case study. The committee plans to have new procedures fully revised by mid 2014. In this interim phase, candidates can chose to be certified under the old or new procedures. Members interested in gaining certification should contact Kathleen Youse.

Membership Committee: Gloriajean Wallace (chair). There are currently 310 ANCDS members, representing an increase of 38 members since spring. The ANCDS Conference Student Fellowship continues. There were 58 applications this year for the 10 fellowships. The student fellows and their conference mentors were recognized.

<u>Professional Affairs and Practice Guidelines Committee:</u> Janet Patterson (chair). The Evidence Based Practice Writing Committees continue work on systematic reviews. The committee is also working on expanding their set of activities.

<u>Scientific Affairs Committee:</u> Nelia Donovan (chair). The committee implemented the 1st ANCDS Collaborative Clinical Research Grant (ANCDS CCRG). The recipients were Drs. Jacqueline Laures-Gore and Rebecca Shisler Marshall for their proposal entitled *Mindfulness meditation in aphasia: Potential attention, language, and psychobiological changes*. The committee also collated a set of research funding sources now available on the website.

<u>Website Committee</u>: Miriam Krause (chair). Committee's ongoing actives include updating employment listings, front pages announcements, and ANCDS publication and research resources. New projects include developing members only resources, updating membership list and map, and expanding online options (e.g., membership renewal, conference registration)

<u>Newsletter Committee</u>: (Melissa Duff and Pradeep Ramanathan (co-chairs). Melissa and Pradeep are rotating off the committee. Their work on the newsletter included updating the newsletter format

and design, diversifying the content and increasing student involvement. Edie Babbit and Katie Ross are the new newsletter committee co-chairs.

<u>Publications Committee</u>; Leonard LaPointe (chair). The Journal of Medical Speech Language Pathology remains the official journal of the organization.

<u>Honors Committee</u>: Anita Halper (chair). The presentation of the 2013 ANCDS Honors will be presented at the luncheon. Anita Halper is stepping down as chair. Mary Boyle will begin chairing the committee in 2014.

<u>Business Management Transition ad hoc Committee</u>: Margaret Blake (chair). Committee is developing a management transition plan in anticipation of Frances Laven's retirement.

## **Old Business:**

- **Proposed by law changes:** Voting closed on 11/8/13. Proposal to change membership categories passed with 90.2% approval. Proposal to increase required age for life membership from 65 to 68 year passed with 77.6% approval.
- ANCDS and Clinical Doctorate: Academic programs express increasing interest in creating clinical doctorates in Communication Sciences and Disorders. The EB approved an ad hoc committee to consider a position statement to promote high quality standards for clinical doctorates in neurologic communication sciences and disorders.
- **ANCDS and ASHA Certification:** Ad hoc committee formed, with Edy Strand as chair, to gather information on the future interface with ASHA on specialty certification.

## **New Business:**

- Nina Simmons-Mackie stated that the organization is moving to enhance its technological footprint and is exploring mechanisms to move key ANCDS functions (e.g., membership renewals, conference registration, grant application) online through the website. ANCDS is seeking interested and willing members to assist with this transition.
- The EB voted to propose a merger of the Newsletter, Website, and Publications committees into a new single committee, the Communications Committee. This proposed committee will integrate and expand the communication activities within the organization and with other stakeholders. The proposal will require a membership vote to change the by laws.
- ANCDS 2014 Annual Scientific and Educational Meeting will be in Orlando, FL. ANCDS is seeking a local arrangements chair and suggestions for venues. Leslie Gonzalez Rothi offered to chair this committee.
- Nina Simmons-Mackie was pleased to acknowledge the many ANCDS members receiving ASHA honors and recognition.
- Nina Simmons-Mackie invited members interested in serving on a committee to get in touch with the association.

<u>Education and Standards Committee</u>: Janet Patterson (chair). Janet introduced the conference theme on Implementation Science and the upcoming presentations by Drs. Ann Sales, Jacqueline Hinckley, Natalie Douglas, Leora Cherney, Margaret Rogers, and Jeanne Wilcox. Janet thanked Anita Halper and RIC for partnering to provide continuing education for the meeting.